home‎ > ‎news‎ > ‎

Society of Professional Journalists Award

posted Jun 18, 2012, 10:00 AM by Mack Hagood   [ updated Jun 18, 2012, 10:01 AM ]
I'm thrilled to (belatedly) announce that a series I produced with my Indiana University students and community radio station WFHB won “Best Radio Use of Sound 2011-12” from the Indiana Society of Professional Journalists. It's worth noting that this was not a student award--this work won first place in an award designated for professional journalists! 

In the class, Audio Production as Service: Sounds and Stories in the Path of I-69, students did ethnographic fieldwork, producing a three-part radio documentary on a controversial new highway and the changes it will bring to Indiana communities and soundscapes. Congrats to my fellow series editors Matt Guschwan and Cara Weaver as well as all the students who did the interviews and field recordings that made the series possible: Alyson Arrendale, John Dupper, Barton Girdwood, Kristin McKain, Lauren Hersch, Blake Lowe, Bryan Marple, Jen Samson, Nick Tolson, Michael Vega, Leroy Velasquez, and Cara Weaver.